• ads

Eason Spelling Bee 2017: Registration Now Open!

By Maeve Ward
In Kids
Nov 9th, 2016
0 Comments
1984 Views

Calling all 5th & 6th Class and Primary 7 Teachers

spelling_bee

Would you like to be in with a chance to win a library of books for your primary school?

If your answer is yes, then the Eason Spelling Bee is just perfect for your school. Are your students super spellers, wizards with words and lightning-fast with letters? Then they could help your school to get the library it needs with the Eason Spelling Bee. There is an overall prize fund of books worth €20,000 to be won.

Now in its 7th year, it couldn’t be easier to enter the Eason Spelling Bee. Simply fill in the entry form below on or before Sunday 22nd January 2017. You will then be sent out an Eason Spelling Bee pack so you can run your own Spelling Bee to find the best speller in your 5th, 6th Class (ROI) or Primary 7 Class (NI).

We are delighted to announce that we will be teaming up with the Dermot & Dave show on Today FM again this year, who will be keeping you updated throughout this year’s competition. Be sure to tune in on 100 to 102 Today FM!

We would also like to announce that we will again this year be teaming up with CoolFM 97.4 and Downtown radio in Northern Ireland, so be sure to tune in for updates.

Every school that enters will send their school champion to take part in their local County Spelling Bee final, the locations of which will be announced in the new year.

The County Spelling Bee’s will take part between February and May.

The winners from each county will then go on to take part in the Provincial finals in May & June. The four winners of the Provincial Finals will go head to head in the All-Ireland Spelling Bee final in June where the winner will be crowned. Please Note: These dates are subject to change.

There are some great prizes to be won as follows:

•All-Ireland Winning School constitutes a book library to the value of €7,500
•All-Ireland Finalists (non-winners) constitutes a book library to the value of €3,000
•Overall winner constitutes books to the value of €500
•Finalists (non-winners) constitutes books to the value of €250
•County Winners constitutes books to the value of €50
•All schools who register before Monday December 19th will be entered into a draw for a €500 Eason gift card

divider

REGISTRATIONS HAVE NOW CLOSED!!

 

For full list of terms and conditions click here

divider

About The Eason Spelling Bee

For over 125 years, Eason Ltd has proudly remained Ireland’s leading Bookseller, Stationer and Newsagent. As a business we understand our unique and privileged position in the supply of reading and writing material to people of all generations. We believe that literacy is a fundamental key to personal development, and spelling is at the heart of that. It improves thinking, understanding, self-confidence, expression of feeling and success.

 

We believe that for young people, especially, literacy standards are critically important but also that reading should be fun.
We are challenging schools in every county of Ireland to compete, have fun and improve their spelling in a competition to find the Eason Spelling Bee champion school.

If you have any queries surrounding the competition, please contact spellingbee@easons.com

Eason Spelling Bee 2017 Schedule

The Canal Court Hotel, Newry

County Date Location
Laois Tuesday 14th Feb The Heath NS, Raheenahoran, Portlaoise
Wicklow Wednesday 15th Feb Carysfort National School, Knockenrahan, Arklow
Roscommon Tuesday 28th Feb Abbey Hotel, Galway Road, Roscommon
Leitrim Wednesday 1st March The Landmark Hotel, Shannon Lodge,Townparks, Carrick- On- Shannon
Sligo Thursday 2nd March Rathcormac N.S.Rathcormac, Drumcliff, Sligo
Longford Monday 6th March St. Mary’s National School, Hill Street, Drumlish
Westmeath Tuesday 7th March St. Mary’s National School, Grace Park Road, Athlone
Offaly Wednesday 8th March Tullamore Educate Together National School, Collins Lane, Tullamore
Kildare Thursday 9th March St. Laurence’s NS, Crookstown, Ballitore, Athy
Carlow Monday 13th March Bennekerry National School, Bennekerry
Wexford Tuesday 14th March Bunscoil Loreto, St. Michael’s Road, Gorey
Waterford Wednesday 15th March St. Ursula’s Primary School, Ursuline Convent, Ballytruckle, Waterford
Tipperary Thursday 16th March St John the Baptist BNS, Old Road, Cashel
Kerry Tuesday 21st March CBS Primary, Clounalour, Tralee
Cork Wednesday 22nd March Rochestown Park Hotel, Rochestown Road, Douglas
Limerick Thursday 23rd March JFK Memorial School Limerick.
Kilkenny Monday 27th March Bunscoil McAuley Rice, Callan, Co. Kilkenny
Dublin Wednesday 29th March Red Cow Inn, Naas Road, Dublin 22
Meath Thursday 30th March St. Paul’s NS, Ratoath
Galway Tuesday 4th April The Salthill Hotel, The Promenade, Galway City
Mayo Wednesday 5th April Scoil Naomh Aingeal, The Lawn, Castlebar
Clare Thursday 6th April Scoil na Maighdine Mhuire, Newmarket on Fergus
Cavan Tuesday 25th April Farnham N.S, Drumellis, Cavan
Fermanagh Wednesday 26th April Enniskillen Integrated Primary School, Drumcoo, Enniskillen
Tyrone Thursday 27th April Sacred Heart Primary School, 6 Letfern Avenue, Tattyreagh, Omagh
Monaghan Wednesday 3rd May Scoil Naomh Pádraig, Corracrin, Emyvale
Antrim Thursday 4th May Templepatrick Primary School, 5 Lylehill Road, Templepatrick
Armagh Tuesday 9th May Carrick Primary School, Sloan Avenue, Lurgan
Derry Wednesday 10th May Termoncanice Primary School, Rathbrady Road, Limavady
Donegal Thursday 11th May Radisson Blu Hotel, Paddy Harte Road, Letterkenny
Louth Tuesday 16th May Dundalk Grammar School, The Crescent, Dundalk
Down Wednesday 17th May
Loading Facebook Comments ...