• ads

Spelling Bee 2017: Longford, Westmeath, Offaly & Kildare

By Maeve Ward
In Headlines
Mar 13th, 2017
0 Comments
10 Views

The Spelling Bee Team ventured to the Midlands this week in order to try and find the county champions of Longford, Leitrim & Sligo.  For an update on each of this past week’s competitions please read below.

Longford

St. Mary’s NS, Drumlish was the venue for the county’s 2017 final. We had a great turnout of 11 magnificent spellers who were all eager to claim this year’s Longford county crown.

After some amazing spelling it was Eoghan Carrigy from Scoil Samhthann in Ballinalee who beat out the competition to be named our Longford champion. Eoghan will now go on to represent his county in the Leinster final in June.

Westmeath

The Spelling Bee Team travelled to St. Mary’s National School, Athlone to crown this year’s Westmeath Spelling Bee champion. We were delighted to welcome 23 magnificent spellers to the school, each were accompanied by their magnificent fans.

The audience were treated to some excellent spelling and were all left in awe when Tom Dorr from St. Mary’s Primary School, Mullingar rose to the top of the pile to be crowned this year’s Westmeath champion. Tom will now go on to represent Westmeath in the Leinster final.

Offaly

The Spelling Bee Team received a very warm welcome to Tullamore Educate Together NS, the host school for our Offaly County final. The staff and pupils were extremely helpful and really made all 23 spellers feel at home. When the action began the fans were treated to a master-class in spelling, we really did witness some magnificent efforts.

In the end it was Robert Maher from Charleville NS, Tullamore who came out on top to claim the title of Offaly county champion 2017. Robert will now go on to represent his county in the Leinster final.

Kildare

St. Laurence’s in Crookstown was the venue for our biggest Spelling Bee to date. The Kildare County final proved to be as impressive as expected with a whopping 34 spellers taking part. Each brought a crowd of fans with them who were treated to multiple rounds of top class Spelling.

In the end Mateusz Palka from Scoil Naomh Lorcáin, Athy was our deserving winner, and really impressed all involved. Mateusz will now go on to represent Kildare in the Leinster final.

 

Eason Spelling Bee 2017 Schedule

County Date Location
Laois Tuesday 14th Feb The Heath NS, Raheenahoran, Portlaoise
Wicklow Wednesday 15th Feb Carysfort National School, Knockenrahan, Arklow
Roscommon Tuesday 28th Feb Abbey Hotel, Galway Road, Roscommon
Leitrim Wednesday 1st March The Landmark Hotel, Shannon Lodge,Townparks, Carrick- On- Shannon
Sligo Thursday 2nd March Rathcormac N.S.Rathcormac, Drumcliff, Sligo
Longford Monday 6th March St. Mary’s National School, Hill Street, Drumlish
Westmeath Tuesday 7th March St. Mary’s National School, Grace Park Road, Athlone
Offaly Wednesday 8th March Tullamore Educate Together National School, Collins Lane, Tullamore
Kildare Thursday 9th March St. Laurence’s NS, Crookstown, Ballitore, Athy
Carlow Monday 13th March Bennekerry National School, Bennekerry
Wexford Tuesday 14th March Bunscoil Loreto, St. Michael’s Road, Gorey
Waterford Wednesday 15th March St. Ursula’s Primary School, Ursuline Convent, Ballytruckle, Waterford
Tipperary Thursday 16th March St John the Baptist BNS, Old Road, Cashel
Kerry Tuesday 21st March CBS Primary, Clounalour, Tralee
Cork Wednesday 22nd March Rochestown Park Hotel, Rochestown Road, Douglas
Limerick Thursday 23rd March JFK Memorial School Limerick.
Kilkenny Monday 27th March Bunscoil McAuley Rice, Callan, Co. Kilkenny
Dublin Wednesday 29th March Red Cow Inn, Naas Road, Dublin 22
Meath Thursday 30th March St. Paul’s NS, Ratoath
Galway Tuesday 4th April The Salthill Hotel, The Promenade, Galway City
Mayo Wednesday 5th April Scoil Naomh Aingeal, The Lawn, Castlebar
Clare Thursday 6th April Scoil na Maighdine Mhuire, Newmarket on Fergus
Cavan Tuesday 25th April Farnham N.S, Drumellis, Cavan
Fermanagh Wednesday 26th April Enniskillen Integrated Primary School, Drumcoo, Enniskillen
Tyrone Thursday 27th April Sacred Heart Primary School, 6 Letfern Avenue, Tattyreagh, Omagh
Monaghan Wednesday 3rd May Scoil Naomh Pádraig, Corracrin, Emyvale
Antrim Thursday 4th May Templepatrick Primary School, 5 Lylehill Road, Templepatrick
Armagh Tuesday 9th May Carrick Primary School, Sloan Avenue, Lurgan
Derry Wednesday 10th May Termoncanice Primary School, Rathbrady Road, Limavady
Donegal Thursday 11th May Radisson Blu Hotel, Paddy Harte Road, Letterkenny
Louth Tuesday 16th May TBC
Down Wednesday 17th May TBC
Loading Facebook Comments ...