Spelling Bee 2018: Connacht Final

By Tina Zafeiri
In Headlines
May 31st, 2018

The Spelling Bee Team were in Galway this week for the Connacht Provincial Final.  The competition took place in The G Hotel, Galway.  Five fantastic spellers spelt it out against each other to win the Connacht Champion title.  The weather was beautiful and was only helped by the stunning backdrop of the G Hotel for a brilliant Provincial Final. At the competition we were joined by Alison Curtis and the Today FM team – make sure to tune into Weekend Breakfast on Today FM this Saturday where Alison will report on her highlights from the Connacht Bee Final.

Here is a look at all five of our fantastic spellers pictured with Alison Curtis.

Pictured above are (L-R):

Lisa Kilfeather – Ransboro National School, Sligo

Shane Fleming – Lisaniska National School, Mayo

Alison Curtis – Today FM

Michael Kilcline – Scoil Naomh Eoin, Lecarrow, Roscommon

Holly Shaughnessy – Ransboro National School, Galway

Rory O’Connell – Annaduff National School, Leitrim

The competition kicked off just after 11 am and 5 spellers spelt it out against each.  It was a fantastic competition, Rory O’Connell from Annaduff National School, Leitrim was named the Connacht Spelling Bee Champion 2018.  Rory will now go on to represent his school, county and province in the All-Ireland Final on June 14th.

Connacht Final winner Rory O’Connell pictured above with Alison Curtis, Today FM and David Boyce, Eason Store Manager, Galway.

Leinster Winning Word: Capitulate

Definition: to surrender, esp under agreed conditions.


The excitement continues as the Spelling Bee Team move on to their next Provincial Finals. Make sure to keep up to date with all the buzz on Today FM!

Upcoming Provincial Finals:

The dates and locations for the upcoming Provincial Finals are outlined below. If you have any questions relating to your Provincial Final you can contact us at spellingbee@easons.com.


Spelling Bee 2018 – Schedule

Province Date Time Venue
Munster 07/06/2018 11 am Eason, Patricks Street, Cork
All-Ireland 14/06/2018 11 am The Helix, DCU, Collins Avenue, Whitehall, Dublin 9

Connacht Final 2018

  • 180529-107
  • Michael Kilcline - Scoil Naomh Eoin (Roscommon)  Photo by: Xposure
  • Holly Shaughnessy - Crumlin National School (Galway)    Photo by: Xposure
  • 180529-108
  • 180529-109
  • 180529-111
  • 180529-113
  • 180529-112
  • 180529-116
  • Lisa Kilfeather - Ransboro National School (Sligo)   Photo by: Xposure
  • Shane Fleming - Lisaniska National School (Mayo)  Photo by: Xposure
  • 180529-106
  • 180529-104
Loading Facebook Comments ...
  • Categories

  • Archives