Spelling Bee 2018: Wexford & Waterford

By Maeve Ward
In Headlines
Mar 23rd, 2018
0 Comments
167 Views

This week our Spelling Bee Team headed to Waterford and Wexford to see who would be crowned our county champions for 2018. It was the week before schools broke up for Easter so spirits were high and a great week was had. Check out all the details from their week below and find out which of our super spellers were crowned Waterford and Wexford Spelling Bee County champions.

Waterford

For another year in a row the competition was hosted by St.Ursula’s Primary School.  We were all guided to the competition by a selection of Bees crafted by the busy hands of students from St.Ursula’s.  The hall was then very appropriately decorated for the competition to take place! 14 spellers battled it out against each other to become the Waterford Champion.

Riham Saeed, from St.John of God N.S., came out on top for the second year in a row. Riham loves reading and is just finishing the Harry Potter series. Riham will now move on to compete in the Munster Final in May.

Wexford

For the final competition before the Easter Bunny arrived the Spelling Bee team went to Gorey, Co. Wexford.  Here, the competition was held in Ashdown Park Hotel.  36 spellers went head to head in front of family, friends and teachers to be crowned the Wexford County Champion.

Aoife O’ Connor, from St. Olivers N.S., Duncannon became the Wexford Champion after a great competition. Aoife, a massive Jacqueline Wilson fan, will not move on to compete in the Leinster Final in May.

Spelling Bee 2018 – Schedule

County Date Location
Mayo Mon 9th April St. Patricks BNS, Chapel Street, Castlebar
Galway Tue 10th April Salthill Hotel
Clare Wed 11th April Ennis National School, Ashline, Ennis
Limerick Thu 12th April JFK Memorial School, Ennis Rd, Limerick
Wicklow Tue 17th Apr S.N. Phadraig Naofa, Avoca
Dublin Wed 18th April Red Cow Hotel
Kilkenny Thu 19th April Scoil Iognaid de Ris, Stephen’s St., Kilkenny
Meath Mon 23rd Apr St. Paul’s NS, Ratoath
Cavan Tue 24th April Farnham National School, Drumelis, Cavan
Fermanagh Wed 25th April Enniskillen Integrated Primary School, Drumcoo, Eniskillen, Fermanagh
Tyrone Thu 26th April Sacred Heart Primary School, Tattyreagh Glebe, Omagh
Louth Mon 30th April Dundalk Grammar Junior School, the Crescent, Dundalk
Down Tue 1st May St. Colmcilles Primary School, 68a Glebetown Drive,Downpatrick, BT30 6PZ
Armagh Wed 2nd May Poyntzpass Primary School, Tandragee Road, Poyntzpass
Antrim Thu 3rd May Templepatrick Primary. 5 Lylehill Road, Templepatrick
Monaghan Tue 8th May Scoil Naomh Pádriag Corracrin, Emyvale, Monaghan
Derry Wed 9th May St.Columbas P.S, 3 Agivey Rd, Kilrea, Coleraine BT51 5UT
Donegal Thu 10th May Mount Errigal Hotel, Letterkenny, Donegal
Longford Fri 11th May Stonepark N.S, Stonepark, Co.Longford

 

Loading Facebook Comments ...
  • Categories

  • Archives